How are Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) elected?



Every 5 years each of the 28 EU countries gets to elect MEPs to represent that country in the European Parliament.

Some countries such as the UK or France get to elect more than one depending on how big their population is, the UK elects a total of 73 MEPs compared to Malta’s 6 MEPs.

However this can change, the total number of MEPs as of 2017 is 751. An example of the change is in 2007 the UK could elect 78 MEPs and there was a total of 785 MEPs.

Most elections take place on a national level however for some of the larger countries such as the UK and France they are split into different constituencies. The UK has 12 constituencies and France has 8 constituencies. We live in the North East region and have 3 MEPs. There is no standard voting system to elect MEPs however it must be a form of Proportional Representation under either the party list or single transferable vote system. The UK uses the D’Hondt method to elect its MEPs.

As of 2014 the North East’s Labour MEPs are:

Jude Kirton-Darling

Paul Brannen

They have also a North East Labour EU website where you can find out more about what they do in the North East.


The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.